A Hertford Suite

Cohen, Jacques


15m 00s




Large Ensemble


2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 bn, 2 hn, 2 tpt, 3 trb, timps, perc, vn, va, vc


Contact Composer

About the work

This piece was originally conceived as a set of variations on a twelve note theme which is first played by the horn near the start. The variations were then expanded into a four movement suite. Although 20th century techniques are employed, there are elements of Romanticism. One such element is a sinister sounding chord first heard at the outset and which re-appears throughout the piece at key moments like an idee fixe.

First Performance: Hertford College Orchestra, Hertford College, Oxford, January 1996.

Technical notes

The first and last movements are very straightforward, and can be performed separately.