Elegy on a floating chord

Cohen, Jacques


12m 00s




Large Ensemble


2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 bn, 2 hn, 2 tpt, timps, vn, va, vc, db


Contact CoMA

About the work

The piece was commissioned by the Oxford University Chamber Orchestra, who premiered it in New York in 1997. It won the Surrey Sinfonietta Composer’s Prize in 1997. The piece is based on a twelve-note chord which is in some form present throughout, although it only appears in its entirety at the climax, It is mostly in the background, its colours constantly changing and only floats to the surface at key moments.

First Performance: Oxford University Chamber Orchestra, New York, 1997

Technical notes

The piece contrasts long-held chords with rhythmic figures, within a very slow tempo. There are many time signature changes.