Forest of Clocks

An evening of time-warping highlights from CoMA's catalogue by the CoMA Anniversary Ensemble conducted by Gregory Rose




6:30 pm


Hall One, Kings Place, York Way, London N1 9AG

Find out more
This event is in the past
Programme includes:
Philip Cashian The Forest of Clocks
Howard Jones The Illusion of Progress
Michaël Lévinas Trois Pensées pour CoMA
Ruta Vitkauskaite new work (world premiere)
CoMA Anniversary Ensemble
Gregory Rose conductor

An evening of time-warping highlights from CoMA’s catalogue, reflecting the diverse languages of composer’s today.

Philip Cashian’s magical odyssey for choir and orchestra The Forest of Clocks, sets the poetry of Pablo Neruda, Kathleen Raine and Federico García Lorca, whose evocative poem gives the work its title: ‘I entered the forest/of clocks/Leaves were ticking/bells hung in clusters’. Expect guitars, metronomes and ping-pong balls.

Musical pulses and temporal vortices are explored in French composer Michaël Lévinas’s swarming, otherworldly Trois Pensées pour CoMA, while Howard Jones’ The Illusion of Progress speaks loudly to our current age. The concert also features a new work by Lithuanian Ruta Vitkauskaite, a composer seeking mythic musical archetypes.