You may delay, but time will not

Many musicians are experimenting with performance from isolation over the internet and having huge problems with delay. In response, Janet Oates has written a piece that makes use of delay. Inspired by a quote from Benjamin Franklin, “You may delay, but time will not” has each player making recordings themselves and sending them to a leader who combines them into the finished performance. This is an open score for you to try out with your ensemble and you can download the score and parts here [link]. Janet is a composer, teacher, performer and conductor and Director of CoMA Singers.

Parts 1 in C, part 2 in C (treble clef) and part 3 in C should use the score. For other transpositions, please download your appropriate individual part and the front page with instructions.

Score in Cpdf
Front page with instructionspdf
Line 1 in Bbpdf
Line 1 in Ebpdf
Line 2 in C alto clefpdf
Line 2 in Bbpdf
Line 2 in Ebpdf
Line 2 in Fpdf
Line 3 in Ebpdf
Skip to content Skip to content