Commissions and new works

CoMA Commisisons

Larry Goves
Larry Goves

Larry Goves is Artistic Director the Open Score project and writes: “I am thrilled to be acting as Artistic Director for the year ahead. It’s a little daunting to be writing alongside such fantastic composers; There is great variety in these composers’ outputs but they’re all united by the sense of adventure and their relationship to documentary in their work (however elusive or explicit). I can’t wait to hear what they come up with!” He has written a piece himself and commissioned four others:

Larry Goveshigh-functioning middle-class alcoholism
Joanna BailieHildegardstrasse/ Bundesallee
Sarah HenniesGrowing Block
Tim Parkinsonsecond song for many
Matthew SergeantEarthworks

Kate Whitley has written Three Movements, a large scale piece for orchestra and choir to be used as the centre piece of the Festival in many locations.

Four nonclasical associate composers have written for the Festival:

Lola de la MataWet Magma
Blasio KavumaPathways
Dan SamsaNeurostella
Yfat Soul ZissoFrenzy

Six works for non-specific vocal ensembles are being commissioned by James Weeks and Janet Oates.

Janet Oates!
Hollie Harding5 Landscapes for Voices

Younger generation composers

The 2020 Festival will also feature composition projects involving younger generations, all resulting in Festival premieres

Bath Spa University students

Jainan WangAncient
Shane Tucker12/8 CoMA
Liam HayesWater Wheel
Paige HalliwellFlux (2020)
Jamie FloydOde to Woe
Barak ArbellThick Fog

Junior Royal College of Music Students

Alice KnightTwo-point-one
Kevin ZhengTundra
Vincent JiFrom Dawn to Dusk
Chelsea BeckerBerlin Blue

East London Community Band

Zoe HallsworthTarantella

West London Schools with Nonesuch Orchestra

Cheswick School, Christ’s School and Twyford CofE School

Louise MartinDanse de la Riviera
Joshua Laye-SionTransmission
Jacob CavendishRiver
Josewph BazalgetteDeck the Jazz
Luca LatchmanTango Por Ti
Alicia PeacockThe Wild Swan
Eloise PearceVariations on Heartbreak
Max BrambleyDawn

Royal Holloway University of London students

Jasmine BatesMalfunction
Thomas BaynesRep 5
Charlotte Glyn-WoodsSpring Dances
Daniel GurnerSatyagraha
Antonia KattouMusic for Newspapers
Kyriakos Kostaclockwise
Fiz MarkhamFrustration
Samuel Messerthree spaces for David Berman
Adrian SoTango

University of Manchester students

Liam GroganCyclops
Lewis RichardsonCollaboration

Royal Northern College of Music Students

Lavender RodriguezMake it Slap
James WaiteDrift No.1

Other first performances

Brighton New Music - CoMA Sussex

Phil BakerKaleidoscope
Phil BakerRondelet
Basil RichmondJust Three

Devon Philharmonic Orchestra commissions

Darren BloomA Dance of Diatoms
Tunde JegedeOshun's Lament
Anna Matthewstimepiece: a pocket watch quartet
Edward NesbitThe Seafarer
Camden ReevesMusic for Glass Cabinets - in eleven short movements
Laura ReidIchthyosaur
Lisa RobertsonAcgeukean Sounds
Ivan G AndrewsNorth Pacific Rim
Joshua BrownEarly Heaven
Marisse CatoSavanna Wars I
Hugh MorrisFace Off
Henry George PageTwo Naked Bishops
Leo GeyerSound Histories
Gwilym SimcockMiniature

Eindhoven Youth Ensemble

Sakia VenegasKyma

Norfolk - IXION and Cantamus

Michael FinnissyMankind
Morgan Hayes
Leo Grant

London Consorts of Winds competition

Alison BeatierSolitary Sunrise
Anica KohlerWhen it Comes Back
Alun GraftonPeaeludium 5
Peter ShottsGhosts of the Jewish Community, Pszczyna
Florence Anna MaundersLaminin
Yvonne TaylorChichester to Eastbourne, via Brighton


Lucinda PillowInto Spring

Torbay Symphony Orchesta

Sam RichardsPlanatarium for Orchestra
Skip to content Skip to content